Who Needs Driver's Education?
Everyone! The laws and regulations that govern our streets are changing frequently, so it's always a good idea to take driver's education to refresh your knowledge. Also, it will often result in a substantial discount on your automobile insurance. Check with your insurance company to find out what discounts they offer for different classes.
REQUIREMENTS TO GET YOUR PERMIT:
The State of Colorado REQUIRES driver's education for younger drivers before they can get their driving permit:
If you are under 15 ½ years old, you must complete the 30-hour comprehensive course.
If you are between the ages of 15 ½ and 16, you can take either the 4-hour Driver's Awareness course or the 30-hour comprehensive course.
After you turn 16, you are no longer required to take classes in order to get your permit.
REQUIREMENTS FOR OBTAINING A PERMIT:
|30-hr class completion||X||X OR|
|4-hr class (DDC4)||X|
|Passed written test||X||X||X||X||X|
|ID documents (passport, birth certificate)||X||X||X||X||X|
|Social Security Number||X||X||X||X||X|
|Proof of Address||X||X||X||X||X|
REQUIREMENTS TO GET YOUR LICENSE:
If you are under 18, you must hold your permit for a full year and log a minimum of 50 hours of supervised driving time with a licensed adult in order to get your license.
If you are under 16 ½ when you go to get your license, you must ALSO have completed 6 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction with a certified driving instructor to get your license.
REQUIREMENTS FOR OBTAINING A DRIVER'S LICENSE
|Permit held for 1 year||X||X|
|50-Hour Drive Log||X||X|
|6 hours BTW training (certificate)||X|
|Proof of Colorado Address||X||X||X|
To sum up, if your goal is to get your license on your 16th birthday, you must:
- Complete the 30-hour class before you turn 15 (you can start as early as 14 ½.)
- Go to the DMV, pass the written test, and get your permit on your 15th birthday.
- Hold the permit for a full year, completing 50 hours with a supervising adult and 6 hours with a professional instructor.
- Take and pass the driving test (can schedule that on the 1-year anniversary of your permit issuance.)